to suzy from alex

It was a great find to just sit with my lilac wine and read your lists. (previous blog)

We are somehow always apart in yet “in the same boat”. Maybe everyone’s in this boat? No, I don’t know – just us, and a few others. Our friends. The friend boat.

This has to be said AGAIN:

we are both going to do so many things that we have not even really sat down and thought about yet.
houses, babies, careers, bad things, good things, sudden things, european things (what does that mean!), they are all going to happen, sooner than later.
i hope we can be pretty happy about all of it.
i hope we remain in control of our choices, our lives, our happiness.
it a a habit that has to be honed.
it does not just happen to work out well. it needs direction and love.
i think so.

So, you know – it comes true.  

 

It’s Friday.  And I am, too, uninterested.  There is no need.  And hey, I might be the guy with no job, but I prefer it when days are days and no more is ascribed, really.  One of these nights I’ll have to do my favorite thing and stay up so late that I sleep the entire next day and wake up the next.  I love when a whole day disappears in bed.  Or on a plane.  To Thailand.

I went to a big, spacious Trader Joe’s today.  In Carson City.  It’s a bit away.  The lady behind me complimented my 6-wine carrier canvas.  I said, “they sell them here.”  She said, “well I don’t drink that much wine.”

HMPH!   Well I said, “I don’t get here very often, so..”   She asked where I lived.  I told her Virginia City.  She asked what I do there and I explained, I just live there ok.  And drink wine.  JEEZ!

Then I went to Comma Coffee in Carson.  The newest and coolest hippest place around that reminds me of a big city.  I had a tea and watched the people and pretended to read New Yorkers from December and January.  

Suzy, if you are over NY- then come west.  But I guess Oregon isn’t warm.  Wait a few years and I’m sure I’ll be somewhere we can go together.  Are we EVER going to do a year abroad or NOT??? I just decided and even told my mom that if things don’t turn around and I can’t find work in Portland – then, really, I should take advantage of my love and my youth and build houses somewhere poor and cheap for me.  Central America comes to mind?  Couldn’t we big a BIG HELP and SAVE money too, at once?  And still have beaches and wine and fun???  Why are we wasting TIME/MONEY/YOUTH in a big, jobless, pointless Americana.  

 

ALEXANDER’S MUSIC RIGHT NOW

I lost myself on a cool damp night
I Gave myself in that misty light
Was hypnotized by a strange delight
Under a lilac tree
I made wine from the lilac tree
Put my heart in its recipe
It makes me see what I want to see
and be what I want to be
When I think more than I want to think
I do things I never should do
I drink much more than I ought to drink
Because it brings me back you…

Lilac wine is sweet and heady, like my love
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady, like my love
Listen to me… I cannot see clearly
Isn’t that she coming to me nearly here? 
Lilac wine is sweet and heady, where’s my love?
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady, where’s my love? 
Listen to me, why is everything so hazy?
Isn’t that she, or am I just going crazy, dear? 
Lilac Wine, I feel unready for my love,
feel unready for my love.

HAPPY NO-FRIDAY!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

