alex is still very much obsessed

with DEAR OLD LOVE blog…   and I decided to post a handful of my favorites the last couple months…

(by the way, I write to you this afternoon while Jr. high aged kids are taking piano lessons in the other room of my house..)

Dear Old Love,

Dr. & Dr. Evil

I would have enjoyed taking over the world with you.

Obstacles

I know the distance is a factor. As is your inability to admit that I am a total babe.

Mint?

It was easier to break up with you than tell you you had nausea-inducing breath.

Best Night Ever

I suppose I should be pleased that you call me late at night to make random pop culture references.

Book Him

I finally finished my novel. It’s nothing like the early drafts you read. The character based on you kills himself because he’s a jackass and everybody hates him. Especially me.

Except Lucero

I hated your music ‘til we broke up. Now it’s all I listen to.

Sit Down

What happened to the band James? What happened to us?

Calendar Erratic

Some days I do not miss you. But other days.

Lush Life

Why must you be full of vodka to know you really love me?

Born The King Of Angel Food

I was going to make you a vegan Christmas cake, but I just don’t care anymore.

Custody

You still have my green jacket. You still have much more than my green jacket.

And The Service!

I told you I loved you, and you said the food was good.

Love In The Time Of Email

You have a common first name, but my Gmail “To” box knows you’re the one I’m thinking about most.

Carved In

Yours is, by far, the deepest and most profound notch on my bedpost. 

Alternate Route

I hid when I saw you at the store because the truth felt too callous: “I’m sorry, I just can’t date a guy who has lived in LA for years and doesn’t know to take Fountain when Sunset Boulevard is backed up.”

Under The Influence

I am happy you picked the roommate you did. You may end up in rehab, but I am guaranteed several weekly drunk dials until then.

 

I’ll end on that brilliant last one…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to alex is still very much obsessed

  1. suzyloves says:

    ending up on reading through old posts.

    these two are so amazing:

    “Carved In

    Yours is, by far, the deepest and most profound notch on my bedpost.

    Alternate Route

    I hid when I saw you at the store because the truth felt too callous: “I’m sorry, I just can’t date a guy who has lived in LA for years and doesn’t know to take Fountain when Sunset Boulevard is backed up.”

Leave a Reply

